Live Election Result 2017

Live Updates of Vidhan Sabha Election, Bye Election, Lok Sabha Election, Voter List, Nagar Nigam/ Nikay/ Panchayat/ Municipal Election Results 2017

Chandigarh Municipal Corp MC Election Result Ward 18th Dec


Live updates of Chandigarh Municipal Corporation MC Civic Body Panchayat Election (Chunav) Live Counting Result of Nagar Nigam Ward Member Municipal Corp Post Wards Election Results

The Chandigarh Municipal Corporation Election 2016 conducted its election process on 18th December 2016. News reports indicate that the voter turnout in Chandigarh Municipal election was at 59%. There are 507627 registered voters in the UT of Chandigarh. 270358 of these voters are male while 236819 are female voters.

The Municipality has 460 polling booths. This record turnout indicates that most people in the Municipality are getting interested in the process. The Municipality has 26 wards with a total of 122 candidates vying for the various positions. 67 of these candidates stood independently without affiliating with any major party.

The polling stations for the Chandigarh Municipal Corporation Election 2016 were open from 8 am to 5 pm, as announced earlier by Rakesh Mehta, the Election Commisioner of UT. The nominations for the Chandigarh Nagar Nigam Election were filed between November 22 and November 29.

The scrutiny for the filed nominations was held on November 30. Candidates who wished to withdraw their candidature had until December 3 to do so. Campaigns for this election continued until 5 pm on December 17 – 24 hours to the polling day.

The Electoral Commission delegated seven returning officers to receive the nominations from the 26 wards in the Municipality. These nominations were filed from 11 am to 3 pm on all working days. The commission published a photo of each contesting candidate on the ballot paper.

The whole election process had three observers and election expenditure observers. Noteworthy, the current ruling party was not allowed to use its official position to advance its election campaign.

Chandigarh Civic Body Municipal Election Result 2016

The Municipal Corporation of Chandigarh is made up of 36 members. 26 of these members are elected councilors, 9 are nominated and 1 is an ex-officio member of the House. The current ruling party, Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP), has 15 councilors followed by Indian National Congress (INC) with 9. Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has one councilor, and one is an independent councilor.

During the Chandigarh Municipal Election, BJP fielded 21 candidates. Dr. Saroj Pandey, the party national secretary general announced that the party’s goal is to get all the 21 candidates elected in their respective positions. Seven of the twenty one candidates were first timers. Three sitting councilors were denied tickets by the party.

The party has not disclosed the reason behind this action. Two councilors who had defected from the congress party were given tickets by the BJP party. The youngest contestant in the BJP party is 26 year old, Kanwar Jeet Singh Rana vying for the councilor’s position in Ward 14.

The Congress Party fielded 12 candidates for the polls. Most incumbents made the list with a few new faces. BJP based its campaigns on demonetization while Congress accused the main party of making poor decisions that hurt the economy of the Municipality.

The elections of the Municipal Corporation of Chandigarh held its elections on December 18 2016. The Chandigarh Municipal Election Result  will be released on December on 20th December 2016 at The Chandigarh Municipal Corporation Election Live Counting Result will also be available in local newspapers, TV Channels i.e. NDTV, ETV Chandigarh, Z News, ABP News, Aaj Tak etc.

Wards/Sector  No.– 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26

Updated: December 20, 2016 — 2:13 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Election Live Result © All Right Reserved 2016 Frontier Theme
error: Content is protected !!